Opening rounds of BBL Cup and BBL Trophy revealed

The draws for the opening phases of the 2017 BBL Cup and BBL Trophy have been completed after they were streamed live on social media via the BBL’s official Facebook page.

Facilitated by Dan ‘The Voice’ Routledge, fans were able to watch Leicester Riders’ play-caller Rob Paternostro and Molten BBL Play-Off Final MVP, Mike Tuck of DBL Sharks Sheffield making the draws.

The BBL Cup draw was made for both the First Round and the Quarter-Finals. The competition involves all 12 BBL clubs, with last season’s top four placed BBL Championship teams all receiving a bye to the last eight and a guaranteed home tie.

BBL Cup First Round
Bristol Flyers v Surrey Scorchers
Manchester Giants v Cheshire Phoenix
London Lions v Plymouth University Raiders
Glasgow Rocks v Leeds Force

BBL Cup Quarter-Finals
Leicester Riders v London Lions or Plymouth University Raiders
Esh Group Eagles Newcastle v Cheshire Phoenix or Manchester Giants
DBL Sharks Sheffield v Glasgow Rocks or Leeds Force
Worcester Wolves v Bristol Flyers or Surrey Scorchers

The BBL Trophy draw witnessed 16 teams paired against each other. The field was made up from the 12 BBL clubs and four invited non-BBL teams, who were all handed a guaranteed home tie.

BBL Trophy First Round
Reading Rockets v Bristol Flyers
Derby Trailblazers v Esh Group Eagles Newcastle
Boroughmuir Blaze v Plymouth University Raiders
Essex Leopards v Manchester Giants
Worcester Wolves v DBL Sharks Sheffield
London Lions v Surrey Scorchers
Glasgow Rocks v Leicester Riders
Leeds Force v Cheshire Phoenix

All BBL Cup and BBL Trophy ties will be played over a single leg until the Semi-Final stage of each competition, which will be across two legs.

The 2017 BBL Cup Final will take place at the Barclaycard Arena in Birmingham on Sunday 15 January and the 2017 BBL Trophy Final will be played at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow on Sunday 19 March.

Source: BBL
Image: C.Cox